facts about India that may surprise you

Although not all Hindus are vegetarian, and not all Indians are Hindu, vegetarianism is an important part of traditional Hindu beliefs and practices. Between 20% and 40% of Indians are vegetarian, meaning vegetarian travelers are never far from delicious dal (lentil), sabzi (vegetable), or paneer (cheese)-based dishes. (Vegans will have more trouble, as dairy products are used in abundance.)